Warmachine: My Protectorate Army

From left to right: Revenger, Paladin of the Wall, Crusader, Kreoss, and Repenter

I’ve had an interest in the game Warmachine for several years.  In fact, a few years ago, I purchased a starting collection of models, but could never really get motivated to go through the pain of making the models (especially because they are made of metal, which requires a little more skill to assemble) and didn’t have a great place to play the game.  In the last few months, I’ve decided to get off the sidelines and start painting my models and playing the game.  The game itself can best be described as a skirmish fantasy wargame.  Here’s the official description from the Privateer Press website:

“WARMACHINE players take on the role of warcasters as they lead their titanic forces into battle. Warcasters possess significant martial prowess of their own as well as having hardened warriors and magical spells to bring to bear. Players collect, assemble, and paint fantastically detailed models representing the varied warriors, machines, and creatures in their armies. WARMACHINE is fully compatible with its feral twin, the monstrous miniatures combat game of HORDES.”

There are currently 9 main factions across the Warmachine and Hordes games, along with two other smaller restricted factions.  Each of them has a different theme and playstyle, but each of the factions are balanced enough that you can pretty much just choose the models that look good to you and jump in.  After perusing the factions, I was immediately attracted to the Protectorate of Menoth, a country of religious zealots who use fire to purge their enemies and make up for some lackluster statlines with some awesome synergy and denial tactics.

It is looking like I’ll get the opportunity to play the game about twice a month, and so I’d like to examine the way my models interact through this blog.  As I expand my army, I’ll expand my thoughts, looking for new synergies, and trying to examine the way my actual games end up based on my proposed strategies and the interaction of my models on the table.  Next time, I’ll be examining my first warcaster model, High Exemplar Kreoss.

Leave a Reply

